Beiger Grund
Topic

Community of Practice

Community of Practice is an approach that is applied in crisis and conflict studies and in educational theory, as well as elsewhere, to approximate a problem or a concrete complex issue from different perspectives, with consideration towards solutions and practice. A group of persons who are active artistically, producing, curating, writing, and filming in the dance, performance, and choreography sectors have been transferring this approach to the artistic field over the course of five workshops since 2021.

Through the exchange on each respective, partially widely varying work practice, they identified common aspirations and formulated questions such as “How can we learn, together and from each other, in the exchange of specific practical knowledge? How can we develop strategies to react to the distribution of power, to mechanisms of structural exclusion and disparate representation practices in the arts? How can we actively influence them?”

At the end of this process, a shared gesture emerges: A poster series titled Körper machen Kontexte (Bodies Create Context). The poster series picks up the format of terms and conditions that define important aspects that make up the basics of any collaboration. The six-point terms and conditions are an invitation as well as an incitement to consider, both within as well as without the field of the arts, disparate conditions and necessary changes in existing and forthcoming collaborations.

Ana Lessing Menjibar

Ana Lessing Menjibar is a German-Spanish performer, choreographer, and multidisciplinary artist from Berlin. In her performances, she interweaves body and sound to form multimedia installations, striving for the creation of poetic worlds. She continuously explores a conceptual interpretation of flamenco, expanding the genre and its movement vocabulary, in order to situate its transformative potential within the context of performance and contemporary dance.

Barbara Lubich

Barbara Lubich is an Italian filmmaker, sociologist, and historian. She is a co-founder of the Zentralwerk Kultur und Wohngenossenschaft eG and lives in Dresden. Her artistic research flows into film and performance works that she realises within interdisciplinarian constellations.  www.barbara-lubich.net

caner teker

caner teker is a survivor, supporter, and choreographer.

Mamady Wegat

Mamady Wegat studied cultural sciences in Berlin. His work and research focus lies on sound studies, post-coloniality, as well as on science and idea history. He has been accompanying various artistic projects as production assistance, most recently as production manager as well as on staff of the public relations team, since 2018. He is currently busy with the traces of colonial production of knowledge in historic sound recordings.

Dr. Sandra Noeth

Dr. Sandra Noeth is a professor at the Inter-University Centre for Dance Berlin (HZT)/ Berlin University of the Arts, and she works internationally as a curator, and in both freelance as well as institutionalised contexts. She is mainly occupied with ethical and political perspectives on body practice and theory; her publications on the topic: Bodies of Evidence (with Gurur Ertem, Passagen 2018); Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects. Artistic Articulations of Borders and Collectivity from Lebanon and Palestine (transcript 2019).

See also:
https://www.udk-berlin.de/personen/detailansicht/person/show/sandranoet…
https://udk-berlin.academia.edu/SandraNoeth

ZOE (Marie-Zoe Buchholz)

ZOE (Marie-Zoe Buchholz) is a performance artist working in multi-media environments, a creative director, curator, and coach from Düsseldorf. She reflects on rehabilitation and re-appropriation, magic and marginalisation, reappraisal and futurism in her art, wherein the emphasis lies on the inclusion, the visibility, and the empowerment of structurally discriminated persons and their stories. She was among the first generation of voguing performers in Germany and also a member of the first German “house” that went on to establish the scene over here.

Community of Practice is part of the festival VOLUME UP. VOLUME UP is funded by Kunststiftung NRW.

Beiger Grund
Thema

Community of Practice

Die Community of Practice ist eine Herangehensweise, welche u.a. in der Krisen- und Konfliktforschung und in der Pädagogik zum Einsatz kommt, um sich einem Problem oder einer konkreten Fragestellung aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven heraus lösungs- und praxisorientiert anzunähern. Eine Gruppe von Personen, die künstlerisch, produzierend, kuratierend, schreibend und filmend im Bereich Tanz, Performance und Choreografie tätig sind, haben seit 2021 in fünf Workshops diesen Ansatz auf das Feld der Kunst übertragen.

Durch den Austausch über die jeweiligen, teilweise sehr unterschiedlichen Arbeitspraxen, sind gemeinsame Wünsche und Probleme identifiziert und Fragen formuliert worden, u.a. „Wie können wir im Austausch von spezifischem Praxiswissen von- und miteinander lernen? Wie können wir Strategien entwickeln, um auf die Machtverteilung, die strukturelle Ausschlussmechanismen und die ungleiche Repräsentationspraktiken in der Kunst zu reagieren. Wie können wir diese aktiv beeinflussen?“

Am Ende dieses Prozesses steht eine gemeinsame Geste: Eine Plakatreihe mit dem Titel Körper machen Kontexte.

Die Plakatreihe greift das Format der AGBs - Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen - auf, welche wichtige Aspekte definieren, die die Grundlage einer jeden Zusammenarbeit bilden. In sechs Punkten sind die AGBs eine Einladung und Aufforderung innerhalb und außerhalb des Felds der Kunst über ungleiche Bedingungen und notwendige Änderungen in bestehenden und zukünftigen Kollaborationen nachzudenken.

Ana Lessing Menjibar

Ana Lessing Menjibar ist eine deutsch-spanische Performerin, Choreografin und multidisziplinäre Künstlerin aus Berlin. In ihren Performances verwebt sie Körper und Klang in Multimedia-Installationen, um poetische Welten zu konstruieren. Sie erforscht kontinuierlich eine konzeptionelle Interpretation des Flamenco und erweitert das Genre und Bewegungsvokabular, um dessen transformatives Potenzial im Kontext von Performance und zeitgenössischem Tanz zu verorten.

Barbara Lubich

Barbara Lubich ist eine italienische Filmemacherin, Soziologin und Historikerin. Sie ist Mitgründerin der Zentralwerk Kultur und Wohngenossenschaft eG und lebt in Dresden. Ihre künstlerische Forschung mündet in filmischen und performativen Arbeiten, die sie in interdisziplinären Konstellationen realisiert. www.barbara-lubich.net

caner teker

caner teker ist Überlebend*e, Unterstützer*in und Choreograf*in.

Mamady Wegat

Mamady Wegat studierte Kulturwissenschaft in Berlin. Seine Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Sound Studies, Postkolonialität und Wissenschafts- und Ideengeschichte. Er begleitet seit 2018 verschiedene künstlerische Projekte als Produktionsassistenz, zuletzt als Produktionsleiter und Mitarbeiter der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Derzeit beschäftigt er sich mit den Spuren kolonialer Wissensproduktion in historischen Tonaufnahmen.

Dr. Sandra Noeth

Dr. Sandra Noeth ist Professorin am HZT-Hochschulübergreifendes Zentrum Tanz Berlin/Universität der Künste Berlin, und arbeitet international als Kuratorin und Dramaturgin in freien und institutionellen Kontexten. Sie beschäftigt sich im Schwerpunkt mit ethischen und politischen Perspektiven auf Körperpraxis und -theorie; Publikationen zum Thema: Bodies of Evidence (mit Gurur Ertem, Passagen 2018); Resilient Bodies, Residual Effects. Artistic Articulations of Borders and Collectivity from Lebanon and Palestine (transcript 2019).

Siehe:
https://www.udk-berlin.de/personen/detailansicht/person/show/sandranoet…
https://udk-berlin.academia.edu/SandraNoeth

ZOE (Marie-Zoe Buchholz)

ZOE (Marie-Zoe Buchholz) ist multimediale Performance-Künstlerin, Creative Director, Kuratorin und Coach aus Düsseldorf. In ihrer Kunst reflektiert sie über Rehabilitation und Rückaneignung, Magie und Marginalisierung, Aufarbeitung und Futurismus, wobei die Inklusion, Sichtbarkeit und das Empowerment strukturell diskriminierter Personen und deren Geschichten im Fokus stehen. Sie gehört zur ersten Generation Voguing-Performer*innen in Deutschland und war Mitglied des ersten deutschen „House“, welches die Szene hierzulande etablierte.

Community of Practice ist Teil des Festivals VOLUME UP. VOLUME UP wird gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW.