Robin Jonsson

"The most human"

Hi Robot – Das Mensch Maschine Festival

Sat 16.03. 20:00 + Sun 17.03. 20:00 HI, ROBOT!

Olivia is a dancer and grew up in Stockholm. Alex is a humanoid, autonomous and self-learning robot as well as a dancer, and he grew up in IDA, the Computer and Informatics Faculty at Linköping University in Sweden. Stockholm-based choreographer, sound artist and P.A.R.T.S. graduate Robin Jonsson gave equal stature to these protagonists in “The most human” – carried by their respective abilities and specifics. Distortion and programme, reduction and complexity are immanent to both. At the same time, they embody character and personality – like, for example, when Alex proceeds to display a certain gait, or in narrations of friendship and cross-species affection.
So, the staging succeeds in taking a look at what might be the meaning of the human factor, of presence and authenticity in the encounter between human and machine. The movements and interactions of both dancers yield a lot more questions, because robots play increasingly important roles in many social fields: In the tertiary sector, in the care sector, in production and heavy industries – here, humans have ceded tasks to machines, or they collaborate closely with them. Who or what is now “the most human” here? The emotions are in turmoil. 

Duration: 50 min. / Following the performance. Explain-Bots: What are androids, and when do we consider them to have reached an autonomous state? Where do they learn their humanoid movements, and what kind of technology is required? Following the performance, human explainers mingle with the audience and invite them to take a look under the surface of the machines. 
Joanna Nordah Joanna Nordah Joanna Nordah

Concept, Choreography: Robin Jonsson; Performance: Alex, the robot, and Olivia Riviere as a substitute for Ludvig Daae in Düsseldorf; Development robot: Fredrik Löfgren; Production: Sara Bergsmark; Costume design: Tove Berglund; Composition: Siri Jennefelt; Lighting design: Johan Sundén; Monolog: Malin Axelsson; Technic: Björn Kuajara; Artistic consulting: Emma Kim Hagdahl. Photo: Joanna Nordah. A production of Robin Jonsson, co-produced by Turneslingan Tre Scener (MDT, Atalante und Dansstationen), Cullberg Ballett and European Network Life Long Burning and Köttinspektionen. In collaboration with the Department of Computer and Information Science, University of Linköping, Smart Produktionshaus and Swedish Radio Drama. With support of The Swedish Arts Council, The Swedish Arts Grants Committee and The Municipality of Stockholm, City of Stockholm and Stiftelsen Längmanska Kulturfonden. HI, ROBOT! is a festival about the future of the human body, initiated by tanzhaus nrw and in cooperation with NRW-Forum Düsseldorf and Black Box / Kino im Filmmuseum Düsseldorf, funded by Kulturstiftung des Bundes. Media partner: Monopol.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Robin Jonsson

„The most human“

Hi Robot – Das Mensch Maschine Festival

Sa 16.03. 20:00 + So 17.03. 20:00 HI, ROBOT!

Olivia ist Tänzerin und wuchs in Stockholm auf. Alex ist humanoider, autonomer und selbstlernender Roboter sowie Tänzer und wuchs in IDA, der Fakultät für Computer und Informatik der Universität im schwedischen Linköping, auf. Der in Stockholm lebende Choreograf, Soundkünstler und P.A.R.T.S.-Absolvent Robin Jonsson gab diesen Protagonisten von „The most human“ gleichwertige Rollen – getragen von ihren jeweiligen Fähigkeiten und Besonderheiten. Störung und Programm, Reduktion und Komplexität wohnen beiden inne. Dabei verkörpern sie Charaktere und Persönlichkeiten – etwa wenn Alex zu seinem spezifischen Gang ansetzt oder wenn von Freundschaft oder Cross Species-Zuneigung erzählt wird.
So gelingt der Inszenierung ein Blick darauf, was die Bedeutung des Menschlichen, von Präsenz und Authentizität bei der Begegnung von Mensch und Maschine sein könnte. In den Bewegungen und Interaktionen der beiden Tänzer stecken weitaus mehr Fragen, denn: In so vielen gesellschaftlichen Feldern spielen Roboter eine zunehmend wichtigere Rolle: Ob im Dienstleistungssektor, in der Pflege, Produktion oder Schwerindustrie – hier haben Menschen Aufgaben an Maschinen abgetreten oder arbeiten eng mit ihnen zusammen. Wer oder was ist hier nun „the most human“? Die Emotionen überschlagen sich.

Dauer: 50 Min. / Im Anschluss an die Performance. Erklär-Bots: Was sind Androiden und ab wann gelten sie als autonom? Wo lernen sie ihre menschenähnlichen Bewegungen, und welcher Technologien bedarf es? Nach den Vorstellungen mischen sich menschliche Erklärer*innen unter die Besucher*innen, die auf einen Blick hinter die maschinellen Oberflächen einladen.

Joanna Nordah Joanna Nordah Joanna Nordah

Konzept, Choreografie: Robin Jonsson; Performance: Alex, der Roboter, und Olivia Riviere als Ersatz für Ludvig Daae in Düsseldorf; Entwicklung Roboter: Fredrik Löfgren; Produktion: Sara Bergsmark; Kostümdesign: Tove Berglund; Komposition: Siri Jennefelt; Lichtdesign: Johan Sundén; Monolog: Malin Axelsson; Technik: Björn Kuajara; Künstlerische Beratung: Emma Kim Hagdahl. Foto: Joanna Nordah. Eine Produktion von Robin Jonsson, koproduziert durch Turneslingan Tre Scener (MDT, Atalante und Dansstationen), Cullberg Ballett und das Europäische Netzwerk Life Long Burning und Köttinspektionen. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Department of Computer and Information Science an der Universität Linköping, Smart Produktionshaus und das Swedish Radio Drama. Mit Unterstützung von The Swedish Arts Council, The Swedish Arts Grants Committee und The Municipality of Stockholm, der Stadt Stockholm und Stiftelsen Längmanska Kulturfonden. HI, ROBOT! ist ein Themenfestival über die Zukunft des menschlichen Körpers, initiiert durch das tanzhaus nrw und in Kooperation mit NRW-Forum Düsseldorf und Black Box / Kino im Filmmuseum Düsseldorf, gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes. Medienpartner: Monopol Magazin, The Dorf.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter