fABULEUS & GRIP / Jan Martens

"PASSING THE BECHDEL TEST" German premiere

Melancholie & Muskeln series

Sun 07.04. 18:00 + Mon 08.04. 11:00

The Bechdel test, developed by cartoonist Alison Bechdel in 1985, takes a look at the roles and the depiction of women in film, and two thirds of all productions fail! The three test questions are as follows: 1. Are there more than two named female protagonists?, 2. do they talk to each other?, and 3. do they talk about something besides men? If the answer to all of these criteria is “yes”, the film has passed the Bechdel test. In her cartoon, Alison Bechdel criticised how few women she saw on the screen and what roles they were given. Her approach became an analytical term that is used globally by feminist critics to assess TV shows, books as well as films.
For “PASSING THE BECHDEL TEST”, 13 young people between 14 and 19 years of age rummaged through a century of feminist literature with Jan Martens – literature ranging from Virginia Woolf to Susan Sontag, from Toni Morrison to Maggie Nelson. It became clear to them they wanted to make the authors’ voices as well their own voices heard. So, Jan Martens radically decided on language as a scenic device. An intimate portrait of the young dancers emerges, informed by their view on the world, but also by their own perception and their relations to others. Together, they develop a “Future Manifesto”, drawing inspiration from Belgian author Rachida Lambaret and others: “The free speech is one of the few instruments to free oneself.”
Choreographer Jan Martens‘ plays thrive on their authentic power and an undisguised view on the essentials as well as on the personalities of his performers. Jan Martens, Factory Artist at tanzhaus nrw from 2014 to 2016, has advanced into a rapid career by now, being in demand internationally with his energetic stagings. He is currently artist in residence at arts centre deSingel in Antwerp. His last production playing in Düsseldorf was “RULE OF THREE”.

Duration: 120 min. / in Dutch, English, French and German with German and English surtitles / Sun talk afterwards

HERE you'll find an article by the belgian online magazine BRUZZ about “PASSING THE BECHDEL TEST”.

Clara Hermans

Concept, creative process: Jan Martens with Isabel Braamkolk, Noor Caestecker, A. Claassen, Renée De Coninck, Luna Glowacki, Bente Govaerts, Noor Hollemeersch, Birgit Lesage, Marie Libens, Hannah Peiren, Celina Vercruysse, Yanou Van Dessel, Mirren Vandenberk; Artistic assistance: Kimmy Ligtvoet; Dramaturgy: Peter Anthonissen; Advice: Rudi Meulemans; Lighting design: Elke Verachtert; Costume advice: Lotte Stek; Head of production: Teresa Wouters, Sylvie Svanberg; Distribution: Vincent Company; International distribution: A Propic / Line Rousseau & Marion Gauvent. A production of fABULEUS & GRIP, co-produced by tanzhaus nrw as part of Take-off: Junger Tanz, sponsored by Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf and Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW. Furthermore sponsored by STUK. With the support from Stadt Leuven and Flämische Gemeinschaft.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

fABULEUS & GRIP / Jan Martens

„PASSING THE BECHDEL TEST“ Dt. Erstaufführung

Reihe Melancholie & Muskeln

So 07.04. 18:00 + Mo 08.04. 11:00

Der Bechdel Test, 1985 von der Comiczeichnerin Alison Bechdel entwickelt, fragt nach der Rolle und Darstellung von Frauen im Film – und 2/3 aller Produktionen fallen durch! Die drei Fragen des Tests lauten: 1. Gibt es in einem Film mehr als zwei Protagonistinnen mit einem Namen? 2. Reden sie miteinander? 3. Reden sie über etwas anderes als über Männer? Wenn die Antwort auf alle drei Fragen „ja“ ist, hat der Film den Bechdel Test bestanden. Alison Bechdel kritisierte in ihrem Cartoon, wie wenig Frauen sie auf der Leinwand sah und welche Rollen sie spielten. Ihr Ansatz wurde zu einem analytischen Begriff, womit feministische Kritiker*innen weltweit u.a. Fernsehsendungen, Bücher und Filme beurteilen.
Für „PASSING THE BECHDEL TEST“ stöberten 13 junge Menschen zwischen 14 und 19 Jahren zusammen mit Jan Martens durch ein Jahrhundert feministischer Literatur – von Virginia Woolf bis Susan Sontag, von Toni Morrison bis Maggie Nelson. Dabei wurde ihnen klar, dass sie die Stimmen der Autor*innen, aber auch ihre eigenen Stimmen hörbar machen wollen. So entschied sich Jan Martens radikal für Sprache als szenisches Mittel. Es entsteht ein intimes Porträt der jungen Performer*innen, das geprägt ist von ihrem Blick auf die Welt, aber auch der eigenen Wahrnehmung und der Beziehung zu anderen. Gemeinsam entwickeln sie ein „Manifest der Zukunft“, inspiriert u.a. von der belgischen Autorin Rachida Lamrabet: „Das freie Wort ist eines der wenigen Instrumente, um sich zu befreien.“
Die Stücke des belgischen Choreografen Jan Martens leben von ihrer authentischen Kraft und einem unverstellten Blick auf das Wesentliche sowie auf die Persönlichkeiten seiner Performer*innen. Jan Martens, von 2014 bis 2016 Factory Artist am tanzhaus nrw, hat mittlerweile eine rasante Karriere hingelegt und ist derzeit Residenzkünstler am Kunstzentrum deSingel in Antwerpen.

Dauer: 120 Min. / in niederländischer, englischer, französischer und deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln / So anschl. Gespräch

Das sagt das belgische Online-Magazin BRUZZ über „PASSING THE BECHDEL TEST“.

Clara Hermans

Konzept, Entwicklung: Jan Martens mit Isabel Braamkolk, Noor Caestecker, A. Claassen, Renée De Coninck, Luna Glowacki, Bente Govaerts, Noor Hollemeersch, Birgit Lesage, Marie Libens, Hannah Peiren, Celina Vercruysse, Yanou Van Dessel, Mirren Vandenberk; Künstlerische Assistenz: Kimmy Ligtvoet; Dramaturgie: Peter Anthonissen; Beratung: Rudi Meulemans; Lichtdesign: Elke Verachtert; Kostümberatung: Lotte Stek; Produktionsleitung: Teresa Wouters, Sylvie Svanberg; Verkauf: Vincent Company; Internationaler Verkauf: A Propic / Line Rousseau & Marion Gauvent. Eine Produktion von fABULEUS & GRIP, koproduziert durch das tanzhaus nrw im Rahmen von Take-off: Junger Tanz, gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf und das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW. Weiterhin koproduziert durch STUK. Mit Unterstützung der Stadt Leuven und der Flämischen Gemeinschaft.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter