Choy Ka Fai

"Dance Clinic Mobile" Lecture Performance

Festival TEMPS D'IMAGES

Thu 17.01. 20:00 + Fri 18.01. 20:00

Choy Ka Fai, self-proclaimed Dance Doctor as well as media artist and Factory Artist at tanzhaus nrw, returns with a mobile version of his celebrated “Dance Clinic”! As Dance Doctor, he travelled the globe, curing little ailments, choreographic weakness and creative blocks. Always in focus: The dancers’ and choreographers’ individual situations and their desire for counsel. At tanzhaus nrw, Choy Ka Fai will present – technically refined and with a tongue firmly planted in cheek – the physical examination of dance patient G, Romanian queer artist and activist Paul Dunca/Paula Dunker. He again resorts to using Ember Jello, a prototype artificial intelligence developed by Choy Ka Fai himself, specialised in the problem analysis for choreographic processes. In this, he remains true to his mission to support dancers and choreographers with scientific and technological know-how.
Choy Ka Fai, who lives in Singapore and Berlin, has been a Factory Artist at tanzhaus nrw since 2017 and shines his virtuosic and also entertaining light on the relation between choreography and science, body and technology. To him, the central question is asking for the future body, because: “Only dance will be capable of creating a body of the future,” according to Choy Ka Fai during his interview, conducted by Arnd Wesemann for German magazine “tanz”. Choy Ka Fai co-curated the TEMPS D’IMAGES 2018 festival and remains an impulse to the festival during this year, too, as the initiator behind the Digital Dance Labs as well as with the “Technological flesh!” lecture.

Duration: 50 min. / in English

Andrei Gindac Andrei Gindac

Concept, dance doctor: Choy Ka Fai, Dance patient G: Paul Dunca/Paula Dunker; Artificial Intelligence: Ember Jello; Interface development, visuals: Naoto Hieda; Interface design: Yusuke Kimura; Visual design: Brandon Tay; Audio design: Chong Li Chuan; Lighting design: Royaya Fudetani; Touring / Communication: Mara Nedelcu. Photos: Andrei Gindaci. A performance by Choy Ka Fai, co-produced by tanzhaus nrw and Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay, Singapore. As part of MOCCA – Motion Capturing Creative Area, a project by Hochschule Düsseldorf, Fachbereich Medien, LAVAlabs, Velamed GmbH and tanzhaus nrw, sponsored by EFRE.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Choy Ka Fai

„Dance Clinic Mobile“

Festival TEMPS D'IMAGES

Do 17.01. 20:00 + Fr 18.01. 20:00

Choy Ka Fai, selbst ernannter Dance Doctor sowie Medienkünstler und Factory Artist am tanzhaus nrw, ist mit einer mobilen Version seiner gefeierten „Dance Clinic“ zurück! Als Dance Doctor bereiste er die Welt, kurierte Wehwehchen, choreografische Schwachstellen und Kreativ-Blockaden. Stets im Blick: die individuelle Situation der Tänzer*innen und Choreograf*innen und ihr Wunsch nach Beratung. Im tanzhaus nrw präsentiert Choy Ka Fai nun – mit technischer Raffinesse und einer gehörigen Portion Humor – die Untersuchung von Dance Patient G. Gemeint ist der queere Künstler und Aktivist Paul Dunca aus Rumänien, der ebenfalls mit einer zweiten Identität in Erscheinung tritt: als Künstlerin Paula Dunker. Choy Ka Fai setzt hier erneut auf Ember Jello, eines von Choy Ka Fai eigens entwickelten Prototyps künstlicher Intelligenz, der auf die Problemanalyse choreografischer Prozesse spezialisiert ist. So bleibt er seiner Mission treu, Tänzer*innen und Choreograf*innen mit wissenschaftlichem und technologischem Know-how zu unterstützen.
Choy Ka Fai, der in Singapur und Berlin lebt, ist seit 2017 Factory Artist am tanzhaus nrw und beleuchtet in seinen Performances virtuos und unterhaltsam zugleich das Verhältnis von Choreografie und Wissenschaft, Körper und Technologie. Zentral ist für ihn die Frage nach dem zukünftigen Körper, denn: „Nur der Tanz ist in der Lage, einen Körper der Zukunft zu entwickeln“, so Choy Ka Fai im Interview mit Arnd Wesemann für die Zeitschrift „tanz“. Choy Ka Fai ko-kuratierte das Festival TEMPS D’IMAGES 2018 und ist auch dieses Jahr als Initiator des Digital Dance Labs sowie mit der Lecture „Technological flesh!“ wichtiger Impulsgeber des Festivals.

Dauer: 50 Min. / in engl. Sprache

Andrei Gindac Andrei Gindac

Konzept, Dance Doctor: Choy Ka Fai, Dance Patient G: Paul Dunca/Paula Dunker; Künstliche Intelligenz: Ember Jello; Interface-Entwicklung, Visuals: Naoto Hieda; Interface-Design: Yusuke Kimura; Visualdesign: Brandon Tay; Audiodesign: Chong Li Chuan; Lichtdesign: Royaya Fudetani; Touring / Kommunikation: Mara Nedelcu. Foto: Andrei Gindac. Eine Produktion von Choy Ka Fai, koproduziert durch das tanzhaus nrw und Esplanade – Theatres on the Bay, Singapore. Im Rahmen von MOCCA – Motion Capturing Creative Area, ein Projekt der Hochschule Düsseldorf, Fachbereich Medien, LAVAlabs, Velamed GmbH und tanzhaus nrw, gefördert durch EFRE.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter