Boy Blue

“Blak Whyte Gray” German premiere

Sat 20.10. 20:00 + Sun 21.10. 18:00

At the beginning: Three straight-jacketed dancers, surrounded by a cage of light. The pulsating energy of urban dance makes every single body tremble, takes hold of the group and drives them into a liberating flow during the course of the performance. “Blak Whyte Gray” is a simultaneously exciting and rousing production by the award-winning hip hop company Boy Blue, hailing from East London. In the brilliantly choreographed production, bristling with energy, a precise movement language from all genres of urban dance meets pounding electro beats, accentuated by subtle nuances.
This triple bill for eight dancers conveys a deeply human experience: “Whyte” looks at stagnation, “Gray” points at awakening, “Blak” formulates the liberation. The unstoppable tide of events invariably brings forth the wish to free oneself from the onslaught of constraints: For Boy Blue, founded by the urban choreographer Kenrick “H2O” Sandy and the producer and composer Michael “Mikey J” Asante, the moment is here to pose fundamental questions and to break free from a system that has long been failing. This is nothing less than a battle for a new beginning.
Boy Blue transports hip hop from the London streets and clubs to the stage, advocating strongly for the acceptance of urban dance as an art form since the company’s inception in 2001. “Blak Whyte Gray” premiered in 2017 and was nominated for the Laurence Olivier Award for Best New Dance Production. Apart from global guest performances, Boy Blue is very much involved in work developing young talent, taking care of them in ground-breaking youth companies. 

„Pure physical poetry.“ „The Stage“

Duration: 90 min. incl. break / Sat 18:30 Open Rehearsal "Water Will (in Melody)" by Ligia Lewis

Carl Fox Carl Fox Carl Fox

Concept, Creative Direction: Michael “Mikey J” Asante; Directed by: Kenrick “H2O” Sandy, Michael “Mikey J” Asante; Choreography: Kenrick “H2O” Sandy; Dance: Ricardo Da Silva, Idney De’Almeida, Jordan Franklin, Natasha Gooden, Gemma Kay Hoddy, Dickson Mbi, Nicole McDowall, Theophillus “Godson” Oloyade; Music: Michael “Mikey J” Asante; Lighting design: Lee Curran; Costume design: Ryan Dawson Laight. Photo: Carl Fox.
A production by Boy Blue, co-commissioned and co-produced by the Barbican, supported by Arts Council England. The guest performance takes place as part of Bündnis internationaler Produktionshäuser, supported by Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien. Furthermore sponsored by British Council as part of UK/Germany2018.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Boy Blue

„Blak Whyte Gray“ Dt. Erstaufführung

Sa 20.10. 20:00 + So 21.10. 18:00

Am Anfang: Drei Tänzer*innen in Zwangsjacken, umgeben von einem Käfig aus Licht. Die pulsierende Energie des Urban Dance lässt jeden einzelnen Körper erzittern, ergreift die Gruppe und treibt sie im Verlauf der Performance in einen befreienden Flow. „Blak Whyte Gray“ ist ein gleichermaßen aufregender wie aufrüttelnder Wurf der mehrfach ausgezeichneten HipHop-Kompanie Boy Blue, die in East London residiert. In dem brillant choreografierten und vor Kraft strotzenden Stück treffen eine präzise Bewegungssprache aller Spielarten des Urban Dance auf hämmernde Elektro-Beats, akzentuiert durch nuancierte Zwischentöne.
In eindrucksvollen Bildern macht dieses Triple Bill für acht herausragende Tänzer*innen eine zutiefst menschliche Erfahrung erlebbar: „Whyte“ blickt auf den Stillstand, „Gray“ deutet das Erwachen an, „Blak“ formuliert den Freiheitsschlag. Denn im unaufhaltbaren Lauf der Dinge entsteht unweigerlich der Wunsch, sich von der Flut der Zwänge zu befreien: Für Boy Blue um den urbanen Choreografen Kenrick „H2O“ Sandy und den Produzenten und Komponisten Michael „Mikey J“ Asante ist der Moment gekommen, grundlegende Fragen zu stellen und sich von einem System, das längst versagt hat, zu befreien. Hier geht es um nichts weniger als den Kampf um einen Neuanfang.
Boy Blue bringt den HipHop von den Straßen und Clubs Londons auf die Bühne und macht sich seit der Gründung der Company im Jahr 2001 erfolgreich für den Urban Dance als Kunstform stark. „Blak Whyte Gray“, uraufgeführt Anfang 2017, war im selben Jahr u.a. für den Laurence Olivier Award for Best New Dance Production nominiert. Neben weltweiten Gastspielen engagiert sich Boy Blue für den Nachwuchs und baut junge Talente in wegweisenden Jugendkompanien auf.

„Pure physical poetry.“ „The Stage“

Dauer: 90 Min. inkl. Pause / Sa 18:30 Offene Probe „Water Will (in Melody)“ von Ligia Lewis

Carl Fox Carl Fox Carl Fox

Konzept, künstlerische Leitung: Michael „Mikey J“ Asante; Regie: Kenrick „H2O“ Sandy, Michael „Mikey J“ Asante; Choreografie: Kenrick „H2O“ Sandy; Tanz: Ricardo Da Silva, Idney De’Almeida, Jordan Franklin, Natasha Gooden, Gemma Kay Hoddy, Dickson Mbi, Nicole McDowall, Theophillus „Godson“ Oloyade; Musik: Michael „Mikey J“ Asante; Lichtdesign: Lee Curran; Kostümdesign: Ryan Dawson Laight. Foto: Carl Fox.
Eine Produktion von Boy Blue, beauftragt und koproduziert durch the Barbican, unterstützt aus Mitteln des Arts Council England. Das Gastspiel findet statt im Rahmen des Bündnis internationaler Produktionshäuser, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien. Weiterhin gefördert durch das British Council im Rahmen von UK/Germany2018.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter