Now & Next

Featuring works by Richard Eisenach, Esther Siddiquie & James Morgan, Elsa Artmann & Samuel Duvoisin and Céline Bellut

Fri 31.03. 20:00 + Sat 01.04. 20:00

Now & Next is the platform for art creators with a connection to North Rhine-Westphalia, working in choreography, performance, video, installation or in cross-genre constellations. Here, they are invited to present first projects in all stages of development, from research to work-in-progress showings right to completed plays.
With “Thaumatrop”, Düsseldorf-based video artist Richard Eisenach not only shows a genre-crossing music and dance film, he also delves into the gaps of concretion and intoxication. Richard Eisenach received his education at the Institute for Music and Media at the Robert Schumann Hochschule in Düsseldorf. For Esther Siddiquie and James Morgan, “The Face To Face” constitutes an attempt to do justice to a counterpart in all regards and to read intentions from movement. The two bodies approach the impossible possibility to reach every decision in complete unanimity. A unison improvisation, in which the relation between leading and following, depiction and reality, success and failure, care and command blurs.
Elsa Artmann and Samuel Duvoisin, in collaboration with dancers Sooyeon Kim, Diana Treder and Chengcheng Hu, also dedicate themselves to the fine lines of interpersonal communication. With “Family Scores”, they are working towards a stage play that sheds light on the topic of living together. The modes of expression are more explicit in rap, which Folkwang graduate Céline Bellut concentrates on in her choreography for seven dancers. Where, at first, it seems to be mainly about sex, money and women’s bodies, “Pop it” takes a closer look at lyrics and common dance moves, forging irony into the ideal weapon between sensual movement and sexist lyrics.

Duration: 90 min. / Sat public talk afterwards

Fiona Essex

“Thaumatrop” a film by Richard Eisenach. “The Face To Face” Choreography, performance: Esther Manon Siddiquie, James Morgan. Photograph: Fiona Essex. “Family Scores”: Choreography, performance: Diana Treder, Sooyeon Kim, Chengcheng Hu, Samuel Duvoisin, Elsa Artmann. “Pop It” Choreography: Céline Bellut; Performance: Magdalena Öttl, Liliana Ferri, Ying Yu Chen, Maria Giovanna Delle Donne, Marie-Lena Kaiser, Geraldine Rosteius, Céline Bellut. The programme Now & Next is supported by Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Now & Next

mit Arbeiten von Richard Eisenach, Esther Siddiquie & James Morgan, Elsa Artmann & Samuel Duvoisin und Céline Bellut

Fr 31.03. 20:00 + Sa 01.04. 20:00

Now & Next ist die Plattform für Kunstschaffende mit NRW-Bezug, die in den Bereichen Choreografie, Performance, Video, Installation oder in interdisziplinären Konstellationen arbeiten. Hier sind sie eingeladen, erste Projekte in allen Stadien der Entwicklung von Recherchen über Work-in-progress-Showings bis zu abgeschlossenen Stücken zu präsentieren.
Mit „Thaumatrop“ zeigt der Düsseldorfer Videokünstler Richard Eisenach nicht nur einen genreübergreifenden Musik-Tanz-Film, sondern taucht auch in die Zwischenwelten von Konkretion und Rausch ein. Richard Eisenach erhielt seine Ausbildung am Institut für Musik und Medien der Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf. Für Esther Siddiquie und James Morgan ist „The Face To Face“ ein Versuch, dem Gegenüber in allem gerecht zu werden und ihre Intentionen aus Bewegungen abzulesen. Die zwei Körper tasten sich an die unmögliche Möglichkeit heran, jedwede Entscheidung im vollkommenen gegenseitigen Einvernehmen zu fällen. Eine Unisono-Improvisation, in der das Verhältnis von Führen und Folgen, Abbild und Realität, Gelingen und Scheitern, Fürsorge und Befehl verschwimmt.
Elsa Artmann und Samuel Duvoisin widmen sich gemeinsam mit den Tänzerinnen Sooyeon Kim, Diana Treder und Chengcheng Hu ebenfalls den feinen Graden der zwischenmenschlichen Kommunikation. Sie arbeiten mit „Family Scores“ auf ein Bühnenstück hin, das die Thematik des Zusammenseins beleuchtet. Expliziter verhalten sich die Ausdrucksformen im Rap, die die Folkwang-Absolventin Céline Bellut in ihrer Choreografie für sieben Tänzerinnen in den Mittelpunkt stellt. Ist hier erstmal hauptsächlich von Sex, Geld und Frauenkörpern die Rede, nimmt „Pop it“ Texte und gängige Tanzbewegungen unter die Lupe und schmiedet Ironie zwischen sinnlicher Bewegung und sexistischem Text zur idealen Waffe.

Dauer: 90 Min. / Sa anschl. Publikumsgespräch

Fiona Essex

„Thaumatrop“ Film von Richard Eisenach. „The Face To Face“ Choreografie, Performance: Esther Manon Siddiquie, James Morgan. Fotos: Fiona Essex. „Family Scores“: Choreografie, Performance: Diana Treder, Sooyeon Kim, Chengcheng Hu, Samuel Duvoisin, Elsa Artmann. „Pop It“ Choreografie: Céline Bellut; Performance: Magdalena Öttl, Liliana Ferri, Ying Yu Chen, Maria Giovanna Delle Donne, Marie-Lena Kaiser, Geraldine Rosteius, Céline Bellut. Das Programmformat Now & Next wird gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf.