Felix Bürkle

„self-made“

Tue 06.02. 20:00 + Wed 07.02. 20:00 + Thu 08.02. 20:00

“What made me into who I am?”, that is the question Düsseldorf choreographer Felix Bürkle asks in his new production. With his roots in circus as well as in contemporary dance, he strides along his own biography and along the expressive modes of the genre as well. He delivers bag loads of experience, collected around the world, for his narration on living and learning on stage. In this, he does not only juggle torches and diabolos, he also connects movements and scenes from previous works. So, the staging becomes a balancing act between intimate self-reflection, sprinkled with a hint of irony and a performance in front of an audience that is subtly mirrored. Felix Bürkle remains surprised, time and again, by the resonant spaces provided by movement, objects and instruments – leading into new worlds via live recordings played by Düsseldorf musician and sound designer Michio Woirgardt. In consequence, this solo encompasses both, human and their environment, the moving object as well as the body in movement. Yet, with his skilful genre-crossing, he constantly blurs the lines between this otherwise strictly separated distribution.
Felix Bürkle started juggling and object manipulation at the tender age of 13, concluding his first education at the Lido circus school in Toulouse and, through this, went on to study dance at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen. He received an invitation the Tanzplattform Deutschland for his first group performance “sprachlos” (“speechless”) in 2002; an invitation issued by Pina Bausch to participate in the International Dance Festival NRW followed in 2008. Research and production residencies brought Felix Bürkle to New Delhi, Mumbai and Abidjan, and as a teacher and lecturer, he received a call from the Folkwang University of the Arts. Felix Bürkle’s new work “High Performance”, produced with dancers for Company Susanne Linke, will see its premiere at Theater Trier at the start of 2018. 

Duration: 65 min.
Foto: Oliver Look Foto: Oliver Look Foto: Oliver Look

Artistic direction, solo performance: Felix Bürkle; Composition, live music: Michio Woirgardt; Dramaturge, video: Christoffer Brekne; Artistic assistance: Andy Zondag; Light: Horst Mühlberger, Jörn Nettingsmeier. Photo: Oliver Look. A production by Felix Bürkle / starting point, co-produced by tanzhaus nrw and Theater im Pumpenhaus Münster. Supported by Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW, Kunststiftung NRW and Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Felix Bürkle

„self-made“

Di 06.02. 20:00 + Mi 07.02. 20:00 + Do 08.02. 20:00

„Was hat mich zu dem gemacht, der ich bin?“, fragt der Düsseldorfer Choreograf Felix Bürkle in seinem neuen Solo. Mit Wurzeln im Zirkus und im zeitgenössischen Tanz durchstreift er seine eigene Biografie sowie die Ausdrucksformen der Genres. Tütenweise Erfahrungen aus der ganzen Welt bringt er für seine Erzählung vom Leben und Lernen mit auf die Bühne. Dabei balanciert er nicht nur Objekte wie Fackeln und Diabolos, sondern verknüpft auch Bewegungen und Szenen aus vorangegangenen Arbeiten. So gerät die Inszenierung zu einem Balanceakt zwischen intimer Selbstbetrachtung mit einer Prise Selbstironie und einer Darbietung vor Publikum, dem subtil der Spiegel vorgehalten wird. Für Felix Bürkle sind es die Resonanzräume, die Bewegung, Objekte und Instrumente bieten, die immer wieder aufs Neue überraschen – und durch den Düsseldorfer Musiker und Sounddesigner Michio Woirgardt via Live-Recording in neue Welten führen. So steckt in diesem Solo immer beides, der Mensch und seine Umwelt, das bewegte Objekt und der bewegende Körper. Doch mit seiner gekonnten Mischung der Genres bringt er diese streng getrennte Verteilung immer wieder ins Wanken.
Schon mit 13 Jahren begann Felix Bürkle mit Jonglage und Objektmanipulation, absolvierte seine erste Ausbildung an der Zirkusschule „Lido“ in Toulouse und kam darüber zum Tanzstudium an die Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen. Mit seinem ersten Gruppenstück „sprachlos“ wurde er zur Tanzplattform Deutschland 2002 eingeladen, mit „beckett, beer and cigarettes“ folgte die Einladung zum Internationalen Tanzfestival NRW 2008 durch Pina Bausch. Recherche- und Produktionsresidenzen führten Felix Bürkle nach Neu Delhi, Mumbai und Abidjan sowie als Dozent und Choreograf an die Folkwang Universität der Künste. Felix Bürkles neue Arbeit „High Performance“ mit Tänzer*innen der Company Susanne Linke kommt Anfang 2018 am Theater Trier zur Uraufführung.

Dauer: 65 Min.

Foto: Oliver Look Foto: Oliver Look Foto: Oliver Look

Künstlerische Leitung, Solo-Performance: Felix Bürkle; Komposition, Live-Musik: Michio Woirgardt; Dramaturgie, Video: Christoffer Brekne; Künstlerische Assistenz: Andy Zondag; Licht: Horst Mühlberger, Jörn Nettingsmeier. Foto: Oliver Look. Eine Produktion von Felix Bürkle / starting point, koproduziert durch das tanzhaus nrw und das Theater im Pumpenhaus Münster. Gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW, die Kunststiftung NRW und das Kulturamt der Landeshauptstadt Düsseldorf.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter