Ekosdance Company/Eko Supriyanto

„Balabala“

Fri 19.05. 20:00 + Sat 20.05. 20:00

In this, his most current work for five young female dancers form the village of Jailolo on the Indonesian isle of Halmahera, choreographer Eko Supriyanto again creates a fascinating re-contextualisation of Javanese dances in a contemporary setting. Based on elements from Pencak Silat martial arts as well as from traditional war dances such as Cakalel and Soya-Soya, mostly danced by men, the play narrates the importance strength holds for these young women, according to Eko Supriyanto. They conquer the space with slow, rhythmic movements, opening potential scope for individuality within a society, making their way, at once tender and confident. “Balabala”, meaning “to ascend, to rise”, negotiates processes of change in Indonesian society, a society that is still defined by strong gender roles as well as by commitments to family for women.
Following the international success of “Cry Jailolo”, featuring a purely male group of dancers, “Balabala” is the second piece of work in which Eko Supriyanto deals with social issues of and the destruction of Indonesia’s ecological equilibrium.
Eko Supriyanto is one of his generation’s most succinct choreographers in Southeast Asia, questioning, among other things, the Western-oriented perspective on Asian dance cultures. He received lessons in Javanese court dances as well as Pencak Silat from his grandfather, starting at only seven years of age. He studied dance, participated in Madonna’s “Drowned World” tour, worked with theatre greats like Peter Sellars and choreographers like Lemi Ponifasio and received a PhD in performance theory.

Duration: 60 Min. / Fri Aftershow-Workshop with Eko Supriyanto / Sat 19:00 Physical Introduction

What is a Physical Introduction? The Physical Introduction is a new format for the audience at the tanzhaus nrw. It is aimed to all interested people who want to learn the special movement quality or the choreographic idea of a piece before the performance. Under the guidance of experienced teachers like Anja Bornsek it is about getting yourself in motion. The Physical Introduction preparates us as spectators to sharpen the senses and get access to what is happening on stage. It is not about imitating concrete scenes of the performance but being able to empathize the characteristic movement principles and intentions of a piece through improvisation and other creative exercises. It is clear: It is just fun! For the 45-minutes warm-up no experience is necessary. Comfortable clothing is useful but not a must.

Foto: David Fajar Foto: Cahya Salihara

Choreography: Eko Supriyanto; Dance: Siti Sadia Akil Djalil, Yezyuruni Forinti, Dian Novita Lifu, Yimna Meylia Meylan Runggamusi, Mega Istiqama Arman Dano Saleh; Music: Nyak Ina Raseuki; Light, stage: Iskandar K. Loedin; Creative Presence: Arco Renz; Comstumes: Oscar Lawalata, Erika Dian; Rehearsal Director: Kamran Akil Djalil, Management: Isa Natadiningrat; Production: Jala Adolphus. Photographs: David Fajar, Cahya Salihara. A piece by Ekosdance Company, co-produced by Kommunitas Salihara, AsiaTOPA, deSingel Internationale Kunstcampus Antwerpen, TPAM – Performing Arts Meeting in Yokohama 2017 Executive Committee, Sydney Festival, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt/M., Fabrik Potsdam, National Performing Arts Center – National Theater und Concert Hall, Taiwan R.O.C. The guest performance takes place as part of the program series „Neue Spiritualitäten in Tanz und Performance“, supported by Kunststiftung NRW. The guest performance is supported by Goethe Institut.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Ekosdance Company/Eko Supriyanto

„Balabala“

Fr 19.05. 20:00 + Sa 20.05. 20:00

In seinem neuesten Werk für fünf junge Tänzerinnen aus dem Ort Jailolo auf der indonesischen Insel Halmahera schafft der Choreograf Eko Supriyanto erneut eine faszinierende Re-Kontextualisierung von javanischen Tänzen in einem zeitgenössischen Setting. Basierend auf Elementen der Kampfkunst Pencak Silat sowie traditionellen Kriegstänzen wie Cakalel und Soya-Soya, die meist von Männern getanzt wurden, erzählt das Stück davon, was Stärke für diese jungen Frauen bedeutet, so Eko Supriyanto. Mit langsamen, rhythmischen Bewegungen nehmen sie den Raum für sich ein, eröffnen potentielle Freiräume für Individualität in einer Gemeinschaft und bahnen sich ihren Weg, gleichermaßen sanft und selbstbewusst. „Balabala“, was so viel wie „aufsteigen, sich erheben“ bedeutet, verhandelt die Veränderungsprozesse in der indonesischen Gesellschaft, die noch immer stark von traditionellen Geschlechterrollen und familiären Verpflichtungen für Frauen geprägt ist.
Nach dem internationalen Erfolg von „Cry Jailolo“ für eine rein männliche Tänzergruppe ist „Balabala“ das zweite Stück von Eko Supriyanto, in dem er sich mit gesellschaftspolitischen Fragen und der Zerstörung des ökologischen Gleichgewichts Indonesiens auseinandersetzt.
Eko Supriyanto zählt zu den prägnantesten Choreografen seiner Generation in Südostasien und hinterfragt u.a. westlich orientierte Perspektiven auf die Tanzkulturen Asiens. Bereits mit sieben Jahren erhielt er von seinem Großvater Unterricht in javanischen Hoftänzen und Pencak Silat. Er studierte Tanz, war bei Madonnas „Drowned World“-Tour dabei, arbeitete mit Theatergrößen wie Peter Sellars und Choreografen wie Lemi Ponifasio und promovierte in Performancetheorie.

„Strong, powerful and hypnotic.“ Lynne Lancaster auf der Online-Plattform „Informa“, 08.01.2017 anlässlich der Uraufführung von „Balabala“ beim Sydney Festival

Dauer: 60 Min. / Fr Aftershow-Workshop mit Eko Supriyanto / Sa 19:00 Physical Introduction

Was ist eine Physical Introduction? Die Physical Introduction ist ein neues Format für Zuschauer am tanzhaus nrw. Sie richtet sich an alle Interessierten, die vor einer Bühnenvorstellung Lust haben, die besondere Bewegungsqualität oder die choreografische Idee eines Stücks kennenzulernen. Unter der Leitung von erfahrenen Dozenten wie Anja Bornsek geht es darum, selbst in Bewegung zu kommen. Die Physical Introduction bereitet uns als Zuschauer vor, alle Sinne zu schärfen und Zugang zum Geschehen auf der Bühne zu bekommen. Es geht nicht darum, konkrete Szenen der Performance nachzuspielen, sondern über Improvisation und andere kreative Übungen die charakteristischen Bewegungsprinzipien und Intentionen eines Stücks nachempfinden zu können. Klar ist: Es macht einfach Spaß! Für das 45-minütige Warm-up sind keine Vorkenntnisse nötig. Bequeme Kleidung bietet sich an, ist aber kein Muss.

Foto: David Fajar Foto: Cahya Salihara

Choreografie: Eko Supriyanto; Tanz: Siti Sadia Akil Djalil, Yezyuruni Forinti, Dian Novita Lifu, Yimna Meylia Meylan Runggamusi, Mega Istiqama Arman Dano Saleh; Musik: Nyak Ina Raseuki; Licht, Bühne: Iskandar K. Loedin; Creative Presence: Arco Renz; Kostüme: Oscar Lawalata, Erika Dian; Probenleitung: Kamran Akil Djalil, Management: Isa Natadiningrat; Produktion: Jala Adolphus. Fotos: David Fajar, Cahya Salihara. Eine Produktion von Ekosdance Company, koproduziert durch Kommunitas Salihara, AsiaTOPA, deSingel Internationale Kunstcampus Antwerpen, TPAM – Performing Arts Meeting in Yokohama 2017 Executive Committee, Sydney Festival, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt/M., Fabrik Potsdam, National Performing Arts Center – National Theater und Concert Hall, Taiwan R.O.C. Das Gastspiel findet statt im Rahmen der Programmreihe „Neue Spiritualitäten in Tanz und Performance“, gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW. Das Gastspiel wird unterstützt durch das Goethe Institut.