Choy Ka Fai

„Dance Clinic“ Premiere

Thu 29.06. 20:00 + Fri 30.06. 20:00 + Sat 01.07. 20:00

Where does it hurt? What kind of therapy and medication does the patient require? Media artist and self-proclaimed “dance doctor” Choy Ka Fai, educated in Singapore and London, invites choreographers to enter his “Dance Clinic”. Every performance equals an individual consultation in which artists receive a read-out of their respective individual work methods, including a symptoms analysis, a check for weak points, a treatment plan and pointers for optimisation, with aid provided by “Ember Jello”, an artificial intelligence prototype developed by Choy Ka Fai. With ironic reference to the common fascination for technology, Choy Ka Fai, at once virtuosic and entertaining, stages a performance that drags the relation between choreography and science as well as the relation between technological and creative processes to the fore.
The former stipendiary at the Berlin artist house Bethanien showed the first results of his research on the intertwinings of dance and neurological processes during the TEMPS D’IMAGES festival at tanzhaus nrw already in last January. The first time he presented a work in Düsseldorf was in 2015, when he showed “SoftMachine: Rianto”, in which he introduced his multimedia archive and research project on Asian dance cultures coupled with a critique on Western-dominated perspectives on dance in Asia.

Alongside choreographers Claire Cunningham and Ligia Lewis, Choy Ka Fai is among the new artists in residence at tanzhaus nrw, one of the so-called “Factory Artists”. During the oncoming two years, they will continually use the venue as a research, production and performance space, focussing on topics like physical differences, minority politics as well as body and technology. Claire Cunningham lives and works in Glasgow. Ligia Lewis, who currently resides in Berlin and New York, was born in the Dominican Republic and raised in Florida, and Choy Ka Fai has taken up residence in Singapore and Berlin. Both through their artistically vastly different positions as well as through their varying cultural and geographical backgrounds, they deliver new impulses into the tanzhaus nrw, contributing to more diversity on stage as well as in the audience. Claire Cunningham, together with Jess Curtis, very recently guested with “The Way you Look (at me) Tonight” at tanzhaus nrw in May, and she will again guest on October 2nd and 3rd with “Give Me A Reason To Live”. Ligia Lewis will present “minor matters”, a first presentation of her work in Düsseldorf, on December 8th  and 9th.

Duration: 60 min. / Performance in English language

Katja Illner Katja Illner Katja Illner

Concept: Choy Ka Fai; Artificial Intelligence Agent: Ember Jello; Dance Patient X: Darlane Litaay; Dance Patient Y: Susanne Grau; Technology, media consultant: Mi You; Interface Design: Yusuke Kimura; Visual Design: Brandon Tay; Light-, Roomdesign: Ryoya Fudetani; Management: Mara Nedelcu. A piece by Choy Ka Fai, co-produced by tanzhaus nrw as part of MOCCA – Motion Capturing Creative Area, a project by Hochschule Düsseldorf, Fachbereich Medien, LAVAlabs, Velamed GmbH and tanzhaus nrw, supported by EFRE. Further co-produced by Da:ns Festival Esplanade Theatres on the Bay, Singapur.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Choy Ka Fai

„Dance Clinic“ Uraufführung

Do 29.06. 20:00 + Fr 30.06. 20:00 + Sa 01.07. 20:00

Wo tut es weh? Welche Therapie und welche Medikamente braucht der Patient? Choy Ka Fai, in Singapur und London ausgebildeter Medienkünstler und selbst ernannter „Dance Doctor“, lädt Choreografinnen und Choreografen in seine „Dance Clinic“ ein. Jede Vorstellung entspricht einer individuellen Konsultation, bei der mithilfe von „Ember Jello“, eines von Choy Ka Fai entwickelten Prototyps künstlicher Intelligenz, Künstler eine Auswertung ihrer individuellen choreografischen Arbeitsweise samt Symptom-Analyse, Schwachstellen-Check, Behandlungsplan und Optimierungstipps erhalten. Mit ironischen Verweisen auf die gängige Faszination für Technologie inszeniert Choy Ka Fai gleichermaßen virtuos und unterhaltsam eine Performance, in der das Verhältnis von Choreografie und Wissenschaft sowie von technologischen und kreativen Prozessen beleuchtet wird.
Bereits im Januar 2017 zeigte der ehemalige Stipendiat am Berliner Künstlerhaus Bethanien beim Festival TEMPS D’IMAGES im tanzhaus nrw erste Ergebnisse seiner Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Tanz und neurologischen Prozessen. 2015 zeigte er mit „SoftMachine: Rianto“ erstmals eine Arbeit in Düsseldorf, in der er sein multimediales Archiv und Forschungsprojekt zu Tanzkulturen Asiens und einer damit verbundenen Kritik an westlich orientierten Blickweisen auf den Tanz in Asien vorstellte.

Neben den Choreografinnen Claire Cunningham und Ligia Lewis zählt Choy Ka Fai zu den neuen Residenzkünstlern des tanzhaus nrw, den sogenannten „Factory Artists“. In den kommenden zwei Jahren nutzen sie das Haus kontinuierlich als Recherche-, Produktions- und Aufführungsort und rücken Themen wie körperliche Differenzen, die Politik von Minderheiten sowie Körper und Technologie in den Mittelpunkt. Claire Cunningham lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow. Ligia Lewis, deren Lebensmittelpunkt aktuell in Berlin und New York liegt, ist in der Dominikanischen Republik geboren und in Florida aufgewachsen und Choy Ka Fai ist in Singapur sowie Berlin ansässig. Sowohl mit ihren künstlerisch ganz unterschiedlichen Positionen als auch mit ihren verschiedenen kulturellen und geographischen Backgrounds tragen sie neue Impulse in das tanzhaus nrw hinein und damit zu mehr Diversität auf der Bühne sowie im Publikum bei. Claire Cunningham war im Mai erst mit „The Way you Look (at me) Tonight“ gemeinsam mit Jess Curtis im tanzhaus nrw zu sehen und wird mit „Give Me a Reason to Live“ ein nächstes Gastspiel am 02. + 03. Oktober zeigen. Ligia Lewis präsentiert mit „minor matters“ ihre Arbeit erstmals am 08. und 09. Dezember in Düsseldorf.

Dauer: 60 Min. / in englischer Sprache

Katja Illner Katja Illner Katja Illner

Konzept: Choy Ka Fai; Artificial Intelligence Agent: Ember Jello; Tanzpatient X: Darlane Litaay; Tanzpatient Y: Susanne Grau; Technik, Medienberater: Mi You; Interface Design: Yusuke Kimura; Visuelles Design: Brandon Tay; Licht-, Raumdesign: Ryoya Fudetani; Management: Mara Nedelcu. Eine Produktion von Choy Ka Fai, koproduziert durch das tanzhaus nrw im Rahmen von MOCCA – Motion Capturing Creative Area, ein Projekt der Hochschule Düsseldorf, Fachbereich Medien, LAVAlabs, Velamed GmbH und tanzhaus nrw, gefördert durch EFRE. Weiterhin koproduziert durch Da:ns Festival Esplanade Theatres on the Bay, Singapur.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter