Candoco Dance Company / Yasmeen Godder & Hetain Patel

"Face In" & "Let’s Talk About Dis" German Premiere

Fri 25.05. 20:00 + Sat 26.05. 20:00

London-based Candoco Dance Company, the company of disabled and non-disabled dancers, presents a double bill including work by choreographer Yasmeen Godder and visual artist Hetain Patel. Yasmeen Godder’s “Face In” is an ode to imagination, oozing with peculiar images, twisted expressions and uninhibited movement. With great delight, the seven dancers explore extremes and challenge social conventions, it is almost as if nature’s laws have been knocked out of order. This turbulent fictional world appears familiar yet distorted at the same time.
In contrast, the dancers in “Let’s Talk About Dis” not only throw their bodies but also their personalities and experiences into the ring. They surrender to a playful interrogation of identity and disability that reaches beyond outer appearance and superficial prejudice. Hetain Patel permits them to play with different aspects of humour, from charming to silly to sinister.
Candoco Dance Company collaborates with internationally renowned choreographers to make cutting edge dance and is world-leading in its education and advocacy work. This is the first time Israeli choreographer Yasmeen Godder has worked with with Candoco. She dedicates her research to different modes of movement, composition and staging formats. Her work regularly appears at tanzhaus nrw, most recently with the participative performance “SIMPLE ACTION”. Visual artist Hetain Patel creates cross-genre work in visual arts, theatre and film. His “Don’t Look at the Finger” video was shown at the children and youth festival “You’re invited, if that’s ok?” at the tanzhaus nrw.

Duration: 90 min. including an interval / Fri 19:30 Introductory talk as part of "Academies on the move" / Fri talk afterwards / Sat 19:00 Physical Introduction

What is a Physical Introduction? The Physical Introduction is a format for the audience at the tanzhaus nrw. It is aimed to all interested people who want to learn the special movement quality or the choreographic idea of a piece before the performance. Under the guidance of experienced teachers like Anja Bornsek it is about getting yourself in motion. The Physical Introduction prepares us as spectators to sharpen the senses and get access to what is happening on stage. It is not about imitating concrete scenes of the performance but being able to empathize the characteristic movement principles and intentions of a piece through improvisation and other creative exercises. It is clear: It is just fun! For the 45-minutes warm-up no experience is necessary. Comfortable clothing is useful but not a must.

Hugo Glendinning Amanda Thomas Hugo Glendinning

Dancers: Megan Armishaw, Joel Brown, Mickaella Dantas, Olivia Edginton, Laura Patay, Toke Broni Strandby, Nicolas Vendange; "Face In" Concept, choreography, direction: Yasmeen Godder; Dramaturgy: Itzik Giuli; Scenery: Gareth Green; Light design: Seth Rook Williams; Costumes: Adam Kalderon; Sound Edit: Nathan Johnson; Music: The Night by Joe Colley and Jason Lescallee; Away from my Body by Brandt Brauer Frick (Live); Pretend by The Brandt Brauer Frick Ensemble feat Emika (Live at Concergebouw Brugge); "Let’s Talk About Dis" Concept, choreography, direction: Hetain Patel; Associate choreographer: Lorena Randi; Text: Hetain Patel and company; Lighting design: Jackie Shemesh; Costumes: Valentina Golfieri; Dramaturgy: Eva Martinez; Choir consultant: Dom Stichbury; BSL translation: fingersmiths; Access consultant: Deepa Shastri. Photos: Amanda Thomas, Hugo Glendinning.
A production of Candoco Dance Company. "Face In" was commissioned by Festival Oriente Occidente and Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. "Let’s Talk About Dis" was commissioned by ArtsDepot and funded by Cockayne Foundation - Grants for the Arts and the London Community Foundation. The guest performance takes place as part of the programme series „response-ability. Eine Ethik der Begegnung“, sponsored by Kunststiftung NRW.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter

Candoco Dance Company / Yasmeen Godder & Hetain Patel

„Face In“ & „Let’s Talk About Dis“ Dt. Erstaufführung

Fr 25.05. 20:00 + Sa 26.05. 20:00

Für die in London ansässige Candoco Dance Company, in der Tänzer*innen mit und ohne Behinderung zusammenarbeiten, kreierten die Choreografin Yasmeen Godder sowie der bildende Künstler Hetain Patel ein Doppelprogramm. „Face In“ von Yasmeen Godder ist eine Ode an die Imagination, die mit verstörenden Bildern und überbordendem Bewegungsdrang eine ganz eigensinnige Kraft entfaltet. Mit großer Lust loten die sieben Tänzer*innen sowohl Banalitäten als auch Extreme aus. Gesichter schneiden groteske Grimassen, soziale Konventionen geraten aus den Fugen, fast scheint es, als wären die Naturgesetze außer Kraft gesetzt. Diese turbulente fiktionale Welt wirkt vertraut, aber gleichzeitig seltsam verzerrt.
Im Gegensatz dazu werfen die Tänzer*innen in „Let’s Talk About Dis“ nicht nur ihre Körper, sondern auch ihre Persönlichkeiten und Erfahrungen in den Ring. Sie stellen sich einer spielerischen Befragung von Identität und Behinderung, jenseits von äußerlicher Erscheinung und oberflächlichem Vorurteil. Hetain Patel lässt sie dabei auf der Klaviatur des Humors von charmant über albern bis böse spielen.
Die Candoco Dance Company arbeitet mit international bekannten Choreograf*innen zusammen. Darüber hinaus leistet sie wegweisende Arbeit in der Ausbildung und Vermittlung. Die israelische Choreografin Yasmeen Godder, die erstmals mit Candoco zusammenarbeitete, widmet sich in ihren Recherchen alternativen Bewegungsformen, Kompositions- und Vorstellungsformaten. Ihre Inszenierungen sind regelmäßig am tanzhaus nrw zu Gast, zuletzt die partizipative Performance „SIMPLE ACTION“. Der bildende Künstler Hetain Patel arbeitet interdisziplinär zwischen bildender Kunst, Theater und Film. Sein Video „Don’t Look at the Finger“ wurde im Rahmen des Kinder- und Jugendfestivals „You’re invited, if that’s ok?“ am tanzhaus nrw gezeigt.

Dauer: 90 Min. inkl. Pause / Fr 19:30 Gespräch im Rahmen von „Academies on the move“ / Fr anschl. Gespräch / Sa 19:00 Physical Introduction

Das sagt WDR SCALA (Autorin: Elisabeth Nehring) über das Doppelprogramm.

Was ist eine Physical Introduction? Die Physical Introduction ist ein Format für Zuschauer*innen am tanzhaus nrw. Sie richtet sich an alle Interessierten, die vor einer Bühnenvorstellung Lust haben, die besondere Bewegungsqualität oder die choreografische Idee eines Stücks kennenzulernen. Unter der Leitung von erfahrenen Dozent*innen wie Anja Bornsek geht es darum, selbst in Bewegung zu kommen. Die Physical Introduction bereitet uns als Zuschauer*innen vor, alle Sinne zu schärfen und Zugang zum Geschehen auf der Bühne zu bekommen. Es geht nicht darum, konkrete Szenen der Performance nachzuspielen, sondern über Improvisation und andere kreative Übungen die charakteristischen Bewegungsprinzipien und Intentionen eines Stücks nachempfinden zu können. Klar ist: Es macht Spaß! Für das 45-minütige Warm-up sind keine Vorkenntnisse nötig. Bequeme Kleidung bietet sich an, ist aber kein Muss.

Hugo Glendinning Amanda Thomas Hugo Glendinning

Tanz: Megan Armishaw, Joel Brown, Mickaella Dantas, Olivia Edginton, Laura Patay, Toke Broni Strandby, Nicolas Vendange; „Face In“ Konzept, Choreografie, Regie: Yasmeen Godder; Dramaturgie: Itzik Giuli; Bühnenbild: Gareth Green; Lichtdesign: Seth Rook Williams; Kostüme: Adam Kalderon; Sound Edit: Nathan Johnson; Music: The Night by Joe Colley and Jason Lescallee; Away from my Body by Brandt Brauer Frick (Live); Pretend by The Brandt Brauer Frick Ensemble feat Emika (Live at Concergebouw Brugge); „Let’s Talk About Dis“ Konzept, Choreografie, Regie: Hetain Patel; Mitarbeit Choreografie: Lorena Randi; Text: Hetain Patel und die Company; Lichtdesign: Jackie Shemesh; Kostüme: Valentina Golfieri; Dramaturgie: Eva Martinez; Chorberatung: Dom Stichbury; BSL Übersetzung: fingersmiths; Beratung Barrierefreiheit: Deepa Shastri. Foto: Amanda Thomas, Hugo Glendinning. Eine Produktion von Candoco Dance Company. „Face In“ entstand im Auftrag des Festivals Oriente Occidente und des Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance. „Let’s Talk About Dis“ entstand im Auftrag von ArtsDepot und wird gefördert durch die Cockayne Foundation und die London Community Foundation. Das Gastspiel findet im Rahmen der Programmserie „response-ability. Eine Ethik der Begegnung“ statt, gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW.

Newsletter
X
Spinner_newsletter